2017 Cuban Finals: Granma Sweeps Ciego de Avila for Cuban Championship

No one said it would be so easy. There have been five sweeps in Cuban championship history. Granma made it six, winning their first Cuban championship with a game four 3-2 win.

BOXSCORE: Grm 3, Cav 2

Guillermo Aviles drove in Alfredo Despaigne from third with a sacrifice fly to drive in the game winning run in the bottom of the eighth. Granma scored the run without benefit of a hit, three walks loading the bases and advancing Despaigne to third.

Yoelkis Cespedes drove in the game tying run with an RBI single in the seventh. Miguel Lahera was given credit for the save, his eleventh of the season, even though he came in the game with the score tied at 2-2. The win was given to Cesar Garcia, who pitched four innings of shutout relief, allowing just two hits.

Granma pummeled Ciego de Avila in game three 10-1 with Aviles powering the team to victory with a grand slam homerun in the opening frame.

Alfredo Despaigne drove in two runs in the game without benefit of a hit, coaxing walks with the bases loaded in the first and fifth innings. Lazaro Blanco improved his record to 17-4 by getting the win.

Granma celebra

Carlos Marti con el trofeo de campeones


El público inundó el estadio Mártires de Barbados.


Granma won the series 4-0

Game 1: Grm 4, Cav 3 (10)

Game 2: Grm 3, Cav 2

Game 3: Grm 10, Cav 1

Game 4: Grm 3, Cav 2