top of page

MLB 2022 | Yordan Álvarez wins the 2022 Silver Slugger

Major League Baseball (MLB) Cuban Players News for the 2022 offseason. A compendium from several MLB sources

Yordan Álvarez. (Photo: Kevin M. Cox/Associated Press)

Major League Baseball's award season kicked off Thursday with the announcement of the Silver Slugger winners in the American and National Leagues.

Bat-maker Louisville Slugger announced the 2022 winners, which are divided by league and given to one player each at first base, second base, third base, shortstop, catcher, designated hitter, and utility player. Three players who primarily play in the outfield are also chosen, regardless of their exact position.

Besides this time favorite, New York Yankees slugger Aaron Judge, Cuban outfielder and designated hitter, Yordan Álvarez, was one of the best hitters in the American League and all MLB, earning his honor as the top hitting AL designated hitter (DH). The Houston Astros superstar ranked fourth in the Junior Circuit in batting average (.306), third in homers (37), second in on-base percentage (.406) and slugging percentage (.613). He also added 97 runs batted in, 95 runs, 29 doubles, 78 walks and a 1.019 OPS in 135 games for the Astros this season.

Álvarez, a first-time Silver Slugger recipient, became the fourth Cuban DH to achieve such an award and the first since Kendrys Morales in 2015.

Here is the list of the 2022 Silver Slugger winners.

AL Silver Slugger Winners

C: Alejandro Kirk, Toronto Blue Jays

1B: Nathaniel Lowe, Texas Rangers

2B: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros

SS: Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox

3B: José Ramírez, Cleveland Guardians

OF: Aaron Judge, New York Yankees

OF: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

OF: Julio Rodríguez, Seattle Mariners

DH: Yordan Álvarez, Houston Astros

Util: Luis Arráez, Minnesota Twins

NL Silver Slugger Winners

C: J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies

1B: Paul Goldschmidt, St. Louis Cardinals

2B: Jeff McNeil, New York Mets

SS: Trea Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers

3B: Nolan Arenado, St. Louis Cardinals

OF: Kyle Schwarber, Philadelphia Phillies

OF: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers

OF: Juan Soto, San Diego Padres

DH: Josh Bell, San Diego Padres

Util: Brandon Drury, San Diego Padres



bottom of page