top of page

60th National Series awards announced. Lisbán Correa: MVP winner

Before the 2021 Cuban Finals Ernesto Reynoso, Cuban Baseball Commissioner, announced today the 60th National Series Awards.

The awards were announced in Havana, and include the Gold Glove Awards – best defensive player at each position-, the Silver Slugger Award – best offensive player at each position -, and the All-Star Team. The announcement also included the individual awards of the season: Best Pitchers – righty and lefty –, Best reliever, Rookie of the Year, and the MVP Award.

Industriales Leones first baseman and designated hitter, Lisbán Correa, was voted the Most Valuable Player of the Year in a race with Cienfuegos second baseman César Prieto and Camagüey right-hander Frank Madan.

For Correa it was his first MVP Award becoming the seventh Industriales player to win the award, joining a list that includes Javier Méndez in 2003, Jorge Fumero in 1996, Orlando “Duque” Hernández in 1994, Lázaro Vargas in 1986, Antonio Jiménez in 1971 and Urbano González in 1965.

The 33-year-old Correa led the league in home runs (28), RBIs (82), slugging (.692), and ISO (.372) and had a .320 batting average, leading Industriales to the 2021 postseason.

Mayabeque Huracanes right-hander Marlon Vega was named the Rookie of the Year. He beat out right-handers Yosvani Ávalos of Ciego de Ávila and Luis D. Morales of Sancti Spíritus, Artemisa’s outfielder Carlos de la Tejera, and teammate, infielder Rafael Fonseca.

Vega went 9-2 during the 2020-21 season with 3 saves, a 4.36 ERA and 75 strikeouts in 84 2/3 innings. The Huracanes youngster started 8 games but was mostly a reliever achieving 22 RG during the 60th NS. Despite the award, Vega’s K/BB ratio was terrible showing an alarming 1.21, and indicating the outdated parameters that are still used to choose the best players of the year in Cuba.

Vega is the first Mayabeque Huracanes player, either pitcher or batter, to be named Rookie of the Year in Cuban National Series history. He is the first pitcher to win the award since Pinar del Río’s RHP Yoandry Cruz in 2016, and the 28th since the award began in 1965.

60th National Series Awards

All-Star Team

C: Yosvani Alarcón (Las Tunas)

1B: Rafael Viñales (Las Tunas)

2B: César Prieto (Cienfuegos)

3B: Jefferson Delgado (Matanzas)

SS: Luis Vicente Mateo (Cienfuegos)

OF: Yasniel González (Mayabeque), Geiser Cepeda (Sancti Spíritus), and Dennis Laza (Mayabeque)

Utility: Jorge E. Alomá (Industriales)

Silver Slugger Awards

C: Yosvani Alarcón (Las Tunas)

1B: Lisbán Correa, (Industriales)

2B: César Prieto (Cienfuegos)

3B: Pavel Quesada (Cienfuegos)

SS: Luis Vicente Mateo (Cienfuegos)

OF: Yasniel González (Mayabeque), Geiser Cepeda (Sancti Spíritus), and Dennis Laza (Mayabeque)

DH: Frederich Cepeda (Sancti Spíritus)

Gold Glove Awards

C: Andrys Pérez (Matanzas)

1B: Daniel Pérez (Cienfuegos)

2B: César Prieto (Cienfuegos)

3B: Luis Ángel Sánchez (Guantánamo)

SS: Yordan Manduley (Holguín)

OF: Dayler Peña (Las Tunas), Yoasán Guillén (Industriales), and Andrés Quiala (Las Tunas)

Utility: Magdiel Gómez (Villa Clara)

Pitcher: José Pablo Cuesta (Industriales)

Individual Awards

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Lisbán Correa (Industriales)

Best RHP: Frank Madan (Camagüey)

Best LHP: Yudiel Rodríguez (Las Tunas)

Best Reliever: Yunior Tur (Santiago de Cuba)

Rookie of the Year (ROY): Marlon Vega (Mayabeque)

(Top Photo of Lisbán Correa: Ricardo López Hevia/Photo of Marlon Vega: Abel Rojas)



bottom of page