top of page

World Series 2023 | For the first time in franchise history, the Texas Rangers win the World Series

Updated: Dec 4, 2023

Corey Seager was named the World Series MVP

(Photo: Brynn Anderson/AP)

Nov 1

Rangers 5, D-backs 0

Rangers won the series 4-1

The Texas Rangers are World Series champions for the first time in franchise history.

The Texas Rangers won Game 5 of the 2023 World Series 5-0 over the Arizona Diamondbacks on Wednesday night, to clinch their first title ever. During the postseason, Texas went an astounding 11-0 on the road.

In 2010 and 2011, the Rangers lost to the San Francisco Giants and St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series.

In Game 5, D-backs pitcher Zac Gallen pitched a no-hitter into the seventh inning, but Texas found a way to score a run while Arizona was limited by starter Nathan Eovaldi.

In the seventh, Rangers shortstop Corey Seager broke up the no-hitter, and Mitch Garver's single scored Seager for the first run of the game.

Through five innings, Arizona left nine men on base and went 0-for-9 with runners in scoring position. As the game came to an end, Texas blew it open with a four-run ninth inning, highlighted by Marcus Semien's two-run home run.

Ketel Marte's 20-game hitting streak ended when righthander Josh Sborz struck him out for the final out. As the crowd erupted in celebration, Sborz was mobbed by his teammates. Sborz's reliability had been consistent in the postseason, and it was no different in the final game.

Meanwhile the Rangers skipper, Bruce Bochy, became the sixth manager in World Series history to win four championships, joining Casey Stengel (seven), Joe McCarthy (seven), Connie Mack (five), Walter Alston (four), and Joe Torre (four).

With the Rangers' win, there are now five Major League Baseball teams that have not won a World Series - the Colorado Rockies, Milwaukee Brewers, Seattle Mariners, Tampa Bay Rays and San Diego Padres.

Corey Seager named World Series MVP

Corey Seager earned his second Willie Mays World Series Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet this season for helping the Rangers win their first World Series title. Seager also received the honor with the Dodgers in 2020.

It was Seager who led Texas throughout the series. The 2020 World Series MVP hit three home runs in this series, the most by a shortstop in a Fall Classic. With 19 playoff home runs, he ranks second in postseason history behind Derek Jeter's 20.

Aroldis Chapman made his seventh World Series appearance.

During Game 5 of the World Series, Cuban Aroldis Chapman completed two-thirds of an inning with a walk and a strikeout. With his outing in the seventh inning, Chapman became the Cuban pitcher with the most World Series appearances in history, seven. In addition, he was credited with his sixth postseason hold. Having won the World Series with the Chicago Cubs in 2016, this was Chapman's second championship ring.

In Game 5 of the World Series, Lourdes Gurriel Jr. singled.

In Game 5 of the World Series, Gurriel Jr. could not help his team win, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Arizona D-backs 5-0 ton win the 2023 World Series. In the game, Gurriel went 1-for-4. Despite collecting a single in his first at bat, Nathan Eovaldi dominated him with the bases loaded in the 5th inning, on a grounder to shortstop Seager to end the inning. Gurriel still had an excellent postseason, slashing .273/.290/.455 with three home runs, 11 RBI, two stolen bases, and five runs scored.

Adolis García got his first World Series ring.

García won his first World Series ring, capping off an impressive postseason performance.

During the regular season, the two-time All-Star clubbed 39 home runs, second most in the American League, and he took his game to another level in the postseason. In 15 games this October, García hit .323/.382/.726 with eight home runs, 22 RBI, and 11 runs scored. The 22 RBI he collected during the postseason are the most ever in a single postseason. He also set the record for most RBI in a series, against the Houston Astros in the American League Championship Series, with 15. With eight homers, he is second all-time in a single postseason, two behind another Cuban, Randy Arozarena who did it in 2020.



bottom of page